Congrats to Our New Officers & Board Members & the 2010 Award Recipients!

At the MBA Annual Meeting on Thursday, December 2nd at The Racquet Club of Memphis, John Cannon of Shuttleworth Williams, PLLC, officially took reign as the 2011 MBA President. Gary K. Smith of Apperson Crump & Maxwell, PLC, and Linda Warren Seely of Memphis Area Legal Services, Inc., automatically succeeded to the positions of Vice President and Treasurer, respectively. Kirk A. Caraway of Allen Summers Simpson Lillie & Gresham, PLLC, was announced as the 2011 Secretary.

New board members of the MBA Board of Directors include Sam Blaiss; Esq.; Lee Chase, Glankler Brown, PLLC; Ellen Fite, Esq.; Charlotte Knight Griffin, Memphis Light Gas & Water; Herman Morris, City Attorney’s Office; Evan Nahmias, McDonald Kuhn, PLLC; Tommy Parker, Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC; Steve Vescovo, Thomason Hendrix Harvey Johnson & Mitchell, PLLC; and Shon Johnson, Black McLaren Jones Ryland & Griffee, PC, MBA Young Lawyers Division President.

Board members returning next year include Sherry Brooks, ServiceMaster; Frank Cantrell, Memphis Area Legal Services Inc.; Elizabeth Collins, Thomason Hendrix Harvey Johnson & Mitchell, PLLC; Craig Conley, Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC; Porter Field, Burch Porter & Johnson, PLLC; Michael Fletcher, The Law Office of Michael Fletcher; Odell Horton, Jr., Wyatt Tarrant & Combs, LLP; Lisa LaVigne, Shelby County Government; Steve Ragland, Bass Berry & Sims PLC; and Van Turner, Butler Snow O’Mara Stevens & Cannada, PLLC.

Section Representatives to the MBA in 2011 will be Jill Clyburn, ClyburnBoyd Law Office, LLC; Michele Howard-Flynn, HF Law Group, PLLC; and Denise McCrary, McCrary & Associates.

Also at the meeting, Judge Jennie D. Latta of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Tennessee was honored with the W.J. Michael Cody Pro Bono Attorney of the Year Award by Memphis Area Legal Services, Inc.

Beth Brooks, Law Office of Beth Brooks, was presented with the Community Legal Center Award by Meg Jones, Executive Director of the organization.

Craig C. Conley of Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC, was honored with the Sam A. Myar, Jr. Memorial Award as a young attorney who has rendered outstanding personal service to the Memphis & Shelby County legal profession and community. The award is presented annually at the Annual Meeting.

David M. Cook of The Hardison Law Firm, was honored with the Judge Jerome Turner Lawyer’s Lawyer Award. The award is presented annually to an MBA member who has practiced law for more than 15 years and who during that time, has exemplified the aims and aspirations embodied in the Guidelines for Professional Courtesy and Conduct. In 2000, the award was renamed in honor of Judge Jerome Turner, during whose presidency of the MBA the Guidelines were developed.